top of page

VM HA Restart

We all know that in the BAU world, unexpected issues happen at any time. I find this script very helpful in our environment. I want to share this with the VMware community and reach out to those people who may be in need of this in their environment.


I encountered this during my on-call shift. Suddenly, one of our production ESXi servers went down, and around 25 Prod VM servers were affected.


To immediately identify those VM servers rebooted by HA I run this script

  • Login to the jumpbox where VMware Module is setup

  • Open Powershell and run the script below screen capture

  • It will pop-up to enter your credential hit Ok


  • You will get this output


The script will populate the Time Stamp of the reboot initiated, VM Name, Current Host, Client Folder and Event Info


With this method or process, we can immediately update our clients and avoid massive impacts on the business.


Note: This is my personal and owned experience that I love to share in the VMware Community. I hope you appreciate it, thank you

bottom of page